Special Committee on Transportation Security and Emergency Management


Operating Procedures     Conference Guide    Master Calendar    Communication Plan 


AASHTO's Special Committee on Transportation Security and Emergency Management (SCOTSEM) began life in Fall 2001 as the time-limited Task Force on Transportation Security, chaired by Missouri DOT Director Henry Hungerbeeler with FHWA's John Gerner as Secretary. 15 member states were appointed to the Task Force including CA, DE, FL, GA, IL, MD, MN, MO, NM, NY, PA, TX, VA, WA & WI. The Task Force was formed in response to the threat of further terrorist actions against the United States following suicide attacks in New York City and Washington, DC on the morning of September 11, 2001. The Task Force put in place a TRB security research program (the NCHRP 20-59 program) and developed guidance materials for state DOTs on vulnerability assessment and emergency response planning.

In 2004, the Task Force was given permanent status as the AASHTO Special Committee on Transportation Security (SCOTS). VDOT Secretary David Ekern was appointed SCOTS Chair and Maryland DOT's John Contestabile was appointed SCOTS Vice Chair. Membership was expanded from 15 to 21 states including two representatives from each AASHTO region and representatives from selected AASHTO Committees. FHWA's John Gerner was succeeded as Secretary by FHWA's Daniel Ferezan. The Committee expanded membership to 3 representatives per AASHTO region in 2006. As SCOTS matured, it focused on bringing states together on an annual basis to discuss security issues and on overseeing a rigorous research program conducted via TRB. SCOTS developed its first strategic plan in 2004.

In 2008, SCOTS added 'Emergency Management' to its name and became SCOTSEM with membership expanded to 3 representatives from every state. Vice Chair, John Contestabile was succeeded by West Virginia DOT's Chuck Runyon. Chair, David Ekern was replaced by CalTrans Director, Randell 'Randy' Iwasaki. In 2011, Idaho Transportation Department Director, Brian Ness succeeded Mr. Iwasaki as Chair.

AASHTO Charge (From Adopted AASHTO Governing Documents)

The purpose of the Special Committee on Transportation Security and Emergency Management shall be to guide and support AASHTO member departments as they develop transportation security and emergency management-related plans, policies, and procedures for building and operating safe and efficient transportation networks whose resiliency to all hazards threats supports the nation

The Special Committee shall promote awareness and education about transportation security and emergency management among state DOTs by supporting or organizing meetings and conferences, and preparing guidance materials on a range of topics as necessary. The Special Committee shall work with partner agencies to undertake a comprehensive program of transportation security and emergency management research. The Special Committee shall engage and partner with other federal and state-level agencies and organizations involved in transportation security and emergency management activities to promote development of security and emergency management plans, regulations, policies, programs that meet the needs of the AASHTO members.

The Special Committee shall report to the Board of Directors. Member departments shall be entitled to three representatives; however, only one vote per Member Department may be cast on voting matters. The President of the Association shall appoint a Chair, Vice-Chair and a Secretary.

The Special Committee shall work cooperatively with the other AASHTO committees. To facilitate this cooperation, the Chair of each of the other committees is encouraged to designate a representative to serve on the Special Committee on Transportation Security and Emergency Management in a liaison capacity.

Representatives from federal agencies, associations, or other governmental organizations may be appointed as non-voting members by the Committee Chair.